Choosing A Pattern

These days, there are a ton of Amigurumi patterns out there to choose from. How do you know which are worth your time and which are worth your money? Well, I’ll spill the beans on how I sort through them.

First thing is I look at the pictures of the finished products. If they can’t produce something cute and amazing looking with their own pattern then I’m not interested in trying to. That’s where I start. If the pictures of the finished products don’t catch my eye, then neither does the pattern. If the pattern doesn’t have a picture of the finished product I also move on. Makes it feel like they didn’t bother trying to make one themselves.

When I’m considering using a pattern, it doesn’t matter if it is free or not, I really look for the same things. If it’s a free pattern, you have the advantage of being able to read over the pattern completely before you decide. But patterns that are being sold will give you samples and if they don’t, I won’t buy them.

These are the things I consider and why:

  1. Is it organized and orderly? Is the flow of it logical?
    1. I don’t want to be bouncing all over the place trying to sort out what I’m supposed to do next. I really hate patterns that have me flipping back and forth through pages and skipping forward or back through sections. It’s annoying.
    2. If it’s not organized, it’s likely to be poorly constructed in general. Which means that it will often be missing key steps or be unclear. This kind of pattern leads to less then awesome projects.
  2. Are there pictures and/or diagrams?
    1. These go a long way for complex projects. The more complex the project, the more of these I expect to see. If I’m making a sea monster with tentacles and horns and fins and there are no pics… yeah, I’m not sold on the pattern.
  3. How many pages is it?
    1. This seems like a weird question, but it comes down to details. The more complex the project, the more pages the pattern should have. Because I want those details as to how to put the little guy together. A short pattern with only 1 or 2 pages is likely to be superficial and leave you to figuring a lot of things out for yourself.
  4. What is the source?
    1. If the pattern is from a company it is more likely to be a complete and detailed pattern, but it also more likely to be something generic.
    2. Here’s the trade off. Surfing the internet and picking patterns that us adorning weirdo fans are drafting will give you patterns that are more detailed and true to the thing. But they are not screened and often aren’t tested before they are being presented. Because of that, they are more likely to have errors or be confusing in their presentation.
    3. How many patterns has this source produced?
      1. If this is the person’s first pattern, it will most likely suck. That doesn’t mean I won’t put my hand to it. After all, we all need that feed back. And some people are just born with a knack.
      2. If a person has a bunch of patterns, a large following, a site they are selling them from etc. they are more likely to have good patterns.
  5. Patterns are worth paying for.
    1. I like free stuff just as much as you do! But the thing to keep in mind is that someone spent a considerable amount of time tinkering around to figure out how to make that thing work right so you can now crochet it without having to do that step. They really have done the hardest part of the job for you. Paying a reasonable amount for a person’s labor isn’t unfair.
    2. Is the pattern that’s being offered free one that has been pirated? It can be hard to tell, but don’t be the one doing the pirating. If you buy a pattern, don’t post it up for free. Instead, tell people where they can buy it.
  6. Does it give you a clear list of needed materials?
    1. I hate trying to figure out how much of what to go get. I really hate that. Really, really hate that. Bleh.

That’s about all, I think. Well, I suppose I also consider if I think it is something that I think I’d want to make!

About piggie4299

I am Myself I am a Wife Blessed with love I am a Mother Endowed with divinity Through the power of creation I am a Daughter Brought into this world With unending hope And the promise of the future I am a Sister Made fierce and strong While forged with kindness Protector and protected Spiraling together forever I am a Nurse Holding out the hands of healing And offering the sick comfort And the dying love Knowing that through this All things are healed and made whole I am a Writer Creating myself and world Sharing the inner depths of humanity Bringing together the divine And the humble mortal I tell the story of the Goddess And am remembered forever
This entry was posted in Tips and Tricks and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

